Skip to content

The Ottaway Award for the Promotion of International Literature

Named in honor of the first chair of Words Without Borders, the James H. Ottaway, Jr. Award for the Promotion of International Literature recognizes individuals who have taken extraordinary steps to advance literature in translation into English. In accordance with the mission of Words Without Borders, the awardee is selected on the basis of his or her efforts to build cultural understanding by advancing popular awareness of international writers and literatures. The Ottaway Award is presented each fall at the annual Words Without Borders Gala in New York City. Past awardees are (below, left to right) Barbara EplerDrenka Willen, Carol Brown Janeway, and Sara Bershtel.


Nomination Instructions
We welcome your nominations for our next Ottaway Award honoree. Please submit nominations through our online form by Monday, March 6, 2017. Only those nominations submitted via our online form will be reviewed. The recipient will be announced in spring 2017 and will be honored at the Words Without Borders Gala on November 1, 2017.

Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.