Skip to content
Give readers a window on the world. Click to donate.


Augusto Higa Oshiro

Image of Augusto Higa Oshiro

Augusto Higa Oshiro (b. 1946, Lima) studied Peruvian and Latin American literature at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos. His publications include the story collections Que te coma el tigre (1977), La casa de Albaceleste (1987), and Okinawa existe (2013); the memoir Japón no da dos oportunidades (1994); and the novels Final del Porvenir (1992), La iluminación de Katzuo Nakamatsu (2008), Gaijin (2014), and Saber matar, saber morir (2014). He is the recipient of the Asociación Peruano Japonesa’s Premio José Watanabe Varas for prose (2012) and the Cámara Peruana del Libro’s Premio de Novela Breve (2014), and has been recognized for his contributions to culture by Peru's Ministry of Culture.

Photo credit: Alisson Chinchon

Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.