Skip to content
Give readers a window on the world. Click to donate.


Sofi Oksanen

Image of Sofi Oksanen

Catapulted into the elite of Finnish authors with her first and widely debated novel, Stalin's Cows (2003), Finnish-Estonian writer Sofi Oksanen (b. 1977) has since then been considered one of the most interesting voices of her generation.  Her novel Purge (2008) was a top bestseller in Finland and has been translated into more than forty languages. She was the first author to be awarded both Finland's premier literary award, the Finlandia Award, and the Runeberg Award in the same year.  Sofi Oksanen is the recipient of many prestigious awards, including the Finlandia Award 2008, the Mika Waltari Award 2008, Cristina of the Year 2008, the Great Finnish Book Club Prize 2008, the Runeberg Award 2009, the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2010, the Prix Femina Ètranger 2010, the Europe Book Prize 2010, the Swedish Academy Nordic Prize 2013, and the Budapest Grand Prize 2013. Her fourth novel, When the Doves Disappeared was published in 2012 to rave reviews and will appear in English in 2015.

Photo by Toni Härkönen

Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.