Skip to content
For literary responses to COVID-19 from writers around the world, check out our Voices from the Pandemic series.

Call for Nominations: The 2016 Ottaway Award

By Karen Phillips

Words Without Borders is seeking nominations for the 2016 Ottaway Award for the Promotion of International Literature. Named in honor of our first board chair, James H. Ottaway, Jr., the Ottaway Award recognizes individuals who have taken extraordinary steps to advance literature in translation into English. In accordance with the mission of Words Without Borders, the awardee will be selected on the basis of his or her efforts to build cultural understanding by advancing popular awareness of international writers and literatures. 

The Ottaway Award is presented each fall at the annual Words Without Borders Gala in New York City. Past honorees were Drenka Willen, Carol Brown Janeway, and Sara Bershtel. 

We welcome your nominations for our next Ottaway Award honoree. Please submit nominations through our online form by Monday, February 15, 2016. Only those nominations submitted via our online form will be reviewed. The recipient will be announced in March.


Published Jan 20, 2016   Copyright 2016 Karen Phillips

Leave Your Comment

comments powered by Disqus
Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.