Skip to content
Join us on October 26 at 7PM EDT for the 2021 WWB Virtual Gala. Learn more and get your tickets today!

Join us for the Words without Borders 2015 Gala!

By Savannah Whiting

As the first signs of fall creep into the air, we're beginning the countdown to our annual gala, and we hope you can make it! This year's gala will be held November 2nd at the gorgeous event space Tribeca Three Sixty°, with 360° views of New York City, the Hudson River, and New Jersey.

Join us, along with Honorary Co-Chairs Claire Messud and James Wood, in celebrating the power of international literature and the expansion of our education program, WWB Campus.

Hosted by poet Rowan Ricardo Phillips, the evening will begin at 6:00 p.m. with a cocktail reception, followed at 7:00 p.m. by dinner and the presentation of the 2015 Ottoway Award for the Promotion of International Literature. This year's Ottoway Award honors distinguished editor and publisher Sara Bershtel, of Metropolitan Books/Henry Holt. Michael Naumann will present the award.

And whether or not you can make it to the main event, you won't want to miss the Globe Trot after-party, featuring cocktails, dessert, and music, and hosted by Alexander Chee, Mia Alvar, Mira Jacob, Rebecca Dinerstein, Naomi Jackson, and Tim Mohr

Purchase tickets online at, or contact [email protected].

Words without Borders wishes to thank our 2015 Gala Host Committee: Claire Messud and James Wood (honorary co-chairs), Peter and Amy Bernstein (gala co-chairs), Jonathan Galassi (gala co-chair), Stephen Rubin (gala vice-chair), Alane Salierno Mason, Anthony Knerr, Anthony and Margo Viscusi, Catherine Greenman and Richard d'Albert, James H. Ottoway, Jr., Jonathan Schorr and Toan Huynh, Maaza Mengiste, Samantha Schnee, Ted Rogers

Globe Trot Host Commitee: Corinna Barsan (chair), Alex Jacobs, Beniamino Ambrosi, Danny Yanez, Eric M. B. Becker, Erin Edmison, Katie Freeman, Kendall Storey, Liz Van Hoose, Miranda Popkey, Rohan Kamicheril

Industry Partners: Henry Holt and Company, Macmillan Publishers, Maria B. Campbell Associates, Other Press, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Catapult

Gala Table Hosts: Akhil Sharma, Amitava Kumar, Ammiel Alcalay, André Aciman, Charles Bock, Claudia Salazar Jiménez, Edward Hirsch, Eliza Griswold, Esther Allen, Gregory Pardlo, Leslie Jamison, Mark Polizzotti, Maureen N. McLane, Monique Truong, Nancy Kricorian, Philip Boehm, Saïd Sayrafiezadeh, Wenguang Huang

Published Sep 14, 2015   Copyright 2015 Savannah Whiting

Leave Your Comment

comments powered by Disqus
Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.