Skip to content

The 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature: It’s Vargas Llosa

By Susan Harris

It's Mario Vargas Llosa. The announcement isn't on the Nobel site site yet, but the Swedish Academy commended the author "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt and defeat." He's the first South American writer since Gabriel Garcia Marquez in 1982. Congratulations to Vargas Llosa, and hats off to his translators Edith Grossman, Helen Lane, and Gregory Rabassa.

Published Oct 7, 2010   Copyright 2010 Susan Harris

Leave Your Comment

comments powered by Disqus
Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.