Skip to content
Congratulations to 2021 Ottaway Award winner Naveen Kishore! Learn more.

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature: It’s Patrick Modiano

By Susan Harris

The 2014 Nobel Prize in literature goes to France's Patrick Modiano. In its announcement, the Swedish Academy praised Modiano “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation." Modiano is well known in France, but less so elsewhere; his UK profile is so low that the Guardian originally reported that he was not available in English translation. That article's been corrected; perhaps now his modest international reputation will be as well.

Published Oct 9, 2014   Copyright 2014 Susan Harris

Leave Your Comment

comments powered by Disqus
Like what you read? Help WWB bring you the best new writing from around the world.